Eesti keeles
In english
News »

Reinforced diplomatic cooperation between the Nordic and Baltic countries


The Nordic and Baltic countries have today signed a memorandum of understanding on the locating of diplomats at each other's missions abroad. The memorandum will make it easier for the Nordic and Baltic countries to maintain a diplomatic presence around the world by enabling flexible and cost-effective solutions. This reinforced diplomatic cooperation coincides with the twentieth anniversary of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania regaining their freedom and re-establishing diplomatic relations with other countries.

"This memorandum of understanding signed by our eight countries is concrete evidence of our solidarity and our strengthened diplomatic cooperation," say the foreign ministers of the Nordic and Baltic countries in a joint statement.

The memorandum regulates the diplomatic and practical aspects of posting diplomats to the mission abroad of another Nordic or Baltic country.

The Nordic and Baltic countries comprise Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden.


© Estonian Embassy in Moscow 5 Maly Kislovsky Pereulok, 125009 Moscow tel. (7 495) 737 36 40, e-mail: