Eesti keeles
In english
Consular Information » Who does not need a visa to visit Estonia? »

Who does not need a visa to visit Estonia?


Nationals of the member states of EU and EEA - Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Finland, France, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, United Kingdom - and Switzerland.
The bases for their stay in Estonia are regulated by the Citizen of European Union Act (the text is available on the homepage of Estonian Legal Language Centre).

Schengen States - Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia.

! Although documents are not checked when one crosses an internal Schengen border, it is still necessary for EU citizens (including Estonians) to carry a passport or ID card. Authorities (police, immigration officials) in Schengen states do have the right to check identifying documents, if necessary.

1. The holders of passports of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Estonia for stays of no more than three months in a 6 month period*:

A Andorra, Argentina, Australia
B Brazil, Brunei
C Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia
E El Salvador
G Guatemala
H Holy See, Honduras, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
I Israel
J Japan
M Macao Special Administrative Region, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco
N New Zealand, Nicaragua
P Panama, Paraguay
S San Marino, Singapore, South Korea
U United States of America, Uruguay
V Venezuela

2. A family member of an EU/EEA/EFTA national, who in addition to the valid passport of the country of his/her nationality present a residence card, which has been issued pursuant to the Directive 2004/38/EC bearing the text "Residence Card of a Family Member of an EEA National ", may enter Estonia without a visa if the family member is travelling together with the EU/EEA/EFTA national or  to the EU/EEA/EFTA national.

The holders of diplomatic and service passports of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Estonia for stays of no more than three months in a 6 month period.

Albania Diplomatic passports
Bolivia Diplomatic and service passports
Bosnia ja Herzegovina Diplomatic passports
Georgia Diplomatic passports
Macedonia Diplomatic and service passports
Moldova Diplomatic passports
Montenegro Diplomatic passports
Morocco Diplomatic and service passports
Peru Diplomatic and service passports
Philippines Diplomatic and service passports
Russia Diplomatic passports
Serbia Diplomatic passports
Turkey Diplomatic, special and service passports
Ukraine Diplomatic and service passports
Holders of the Laissez-Passer issued by the United Nations  



© Estonian Embassy in Moscow 5 Maly Kislovsky Pereulok, 125009 Moscow tel. (7 495) 737 36 40, e-mail: